First home-loss for RSV Lahn-Dill

Matt-Scott-Gala in 63:66-defeat against Porto Torres
After the second game day of the IWBF Champions Cup quarter final, everything is undecided again for all four teams. Thuringia Bulls made up for their defeat against RSV Lahn-Dill by beating Hyeres, whilst the hosting team had to swallow defeat against Italian top team GSD Porto Torres 63:66 (9:17/25:28/45:50).
RSV Lahn-Dill gave an unsteady presentation in front of their home crowd. The exciting and great game of the day before was followed by a not so convincing performance against the team from Italy. “We knew that we should not underestimate Porto Torres, especially after their defeat yesterday, and we knew what was coming for us with Matt Scott, but once again, we did not get into gear quickly enough.” said Nicolai Zeltinger after the game.
On the other side, playing for the Sardinian team, there was Matt Scott, who got Gold in Rio last summer together with RSV-Captain Michael Paye. The US-boy got 34 points for his team, 12 of which from beyond the three-point-line. It was also down to him that his team shot ahead to 17:9 in the first quarter and therefore putting the hosting team under immense pressure.
This led to RSV trying to catch up for the rest of the game, without being able to turn the game around. Only in the third quarter it seemed like there was a chance, when RSV got the 42:41-lead (26th min). But right away at 43:42 (27th min), this was nullified again when Porto Torres got a 18:4-run changing the score to 47:60 (37th min). Matt Scott seemed to hit everything from anywhere, scoring three threes within four minutes, getting his team deservedly on the way to a win.
The Middle Hesse team showed their fighting spirits, and they crept up again point by point to the 63:66 score at the end of the game, when Piotr Luszynski had the chance to get a three to even the game. Two more attempts to score a three by the Pole and Boehme were sadly unsuccessful.

Lahn-Dill: Piotr Luszynski (19/1 Dreier), Thomas Böhme (14/2), Michael Paye (10), Nico Dreimüller (6), Philipp Häfeli (6), Jan Haller (4), Joe Bestwick (2), Dirk Köhler (2), Annabel Breuer, Björn Lohmann, Christopher Huber (n.e.).
Porto Torres: Matt Scott (34/4), Georges Bates (12), Phil Pratt (12), Fabio Raimondi (8), Beatrice Ion, Simon Munn, Luca Puggioni, Raimondo Canu (n.e.), Amy Conroy (n.e.), Domenico Elia (n.e.), Bruno Falchi (n.e.), Dario di Francesco (n.e.).

RSV-Magazin Defense