Early-bird tickets for Playoffs

68:45-success over Dolphins Trier

With their 68:45 (19:12/32:27/44:34) home win over Goldmann Dolphins Trier RSV Lahn-Dill have booked their ticket for the Playoffs early, and even before the main round has finished. Around 950 fans watched their team last Saturday, seeing them try to make up for the week before.

„We needed two or three minutes to get into the game“ said RSV-coach Nicolai Zeltinger about the 0:6 (2nd min) at the start. But after Thomas Boehme finally scored the first points, it was especially US-American Steve Serio who turned the game around in the first quarter. He excited the audience with a three leading to 17:10 (9th min), after his team regained control over the game with a strong defence.

But the guests did not sit back and watch, and fought for their space in the Playoffs. Latvian Karlis Podnieks scored the 14:19 (11th min), before the strong playing Dutchmen Marc van den Kuilen scored over all seven points, which got his team back up to 30:27 only seconds before half-time. “In this phase of the game we got Trier back into the game due to our rotation on court. I have to point out here that there was too little coming from our bench” said Zeltinger about the minutes before change-over.

After half-time the game became a duel between two teams that wanted to make up for recent losses, but RSV Lahn-Dill seemed more focussed and strong than their guests. It took the team another couple of minutes, but after Felix Schell scoring two baskets leading to 36:29 (26th min), Captain Michael Paye lead his team’s offence to a 8:2-run to the 44:33 (29th min).

The last quarter was then dominated by the hosting team, who showed off their quick thinking and strength. The last ten minutes were all about Briton Joe Bestwick, who scored 16 points alone in the last quarter and hit 81 per cent. Captain Paye and for the opposition Briton Tyler Saunders scored the last couple of points for their respective teams.
Lahn-Dill: Joe Bestwick (20), Steve Serio (18/1 Dreier), Michael Paye (13/1 Dreier), Thomas Böhme (8), Felix Schell (7), Dirk Köhler (2), Nico Dreimüller, Jan Haller, Christopher Huber, Björn Lohmann, Marco Zwerger, Annabel Breuer (n.e.).
Trier: Dirk Passiwan (14), Marc van de Kuilen (10), Karlis Podnieks (9), Tyler Saunders (8), Diana Dadzite (2), Florian Ewertz (2), Valeska Finger, Chad Jassman, Martin Koltes. 

RSV-Magazin Defense