Steve Serio has convincing comeback

Obvious 83:55-success over Hamburger SV
RSV Lahn-Dill mastered their first success over league-competition Hamburg SV sovereignly in their first public appearance of the 2013/2014-season. The Wetzlar-Rollis won the game with an obvious 83:55 (17:9/32:23/56:39) against the newly staffed and complete Hamburg-squad at the SWG-Cup at Dietrich-Bonhoeffer-Sporthalle in Lich.
Especially the final points-difference surprised everyone, as Hamburg started with over all eight national players, whilst RSV had to show up not only without their head-coach Nicolai Zeltinger, but also minus Thomas Boehme and Chris Huber, who were at the U23-Worlds in Adana, and without Joe Bestwick and Bjoern Lohmann. But on the upside US-American Steve Serio had a great comeback, scoring 20 points for RSV Lahn-Dill. The 26-year-old from New York already seemed like he had never been anywhere else but with his team.
Still, assistant coach Ralf Neumann needed a good couple of minutes to get the tenfold Champions into the game. After the 8:5 (5th min) the team started to roll, and raised the scoreboard up to 26:17 (15th min) thanks to Serio. Afterwards the game stayed pretty level until the third quarter, before RSV got to their strongest phase. The score went from 48:37 (28th min) via 61:39 (32nd min) to 73:46 (37th min). the strongest players here were most of all captain Michael Paye as well as Dutch Marc van de Kuilen and Japanese Hiroaki Kozai for Hamburg.
Good-bye for Gesche Schuenemann
RSV Lahn-Dill used the opportunity to say good-bye to national player Gesche Schuenemann before the game, as she was wearing her new club’s vest for the first time in Lich. The 30-year-old had been playing for RSV since 2007 and has won the Champions Cup twice with the team.
Lahn-Dill: Michael Paye (27/1 Dreier), Steve Serio (20), Felix Schell (13), Dirk Koehler (10), Thomas Gundert (4), Jan Haller (4), Marco Zwerger (3), David Amend (2), Annabel Breuer.
Hamburg: Marc van de Kuilen (17), Hiroaki Kozai (15/1), Lukas Hartig (9), Robin Poggenwisch (8), Gesche Schuenemann (4), Nikolaus Classen (2), Maya Lindholm, Dirk Thalheim, Annika Zeyen, Edina Mueller (n.e.), Jan-Niklas Neuroth (n.e.). 

RSV-Magazin Defense