Athletes’ choice of 2021 in the sports city of Wetzlar

Catharina Weiß, Brian Bell and the team nominated

Traditionally, the athletes’ elections of the year take place throughout Germany in the run-up to Christmas. Of course, this is also the case in Wetzlar, where the city’s best athletes have been chosen for almost two decades. In a strong competition, RSV Lahn-Dill national player Catharina Weiß, Paralympic champion Brian Bell and the team itself are nominated in the respective categories.

Until 29 November, all those interested in sports can now cast their votes online at The winners will then be awarded as part of the sports award ceremony of the sports city of Wetzlar on 6 December in the Stadthalle Wetzlar. In 2021, the athletes’ choice is also a cooperation between the Lahn-Dill sports district, the city of Wetzlar and the Sparkasse Wetzlar.

In addition to Catharina Weiß, who took fourth place with the national team in Tokyo and won the Champions League title and the runner-up championship with RSV Lahn-Dill, the three track and field athletes Rebekka Haase and Lisa Mayer, both from the Wetzlar sprint team, and Sophia Volkmer from TV Wetzlar as well as footballer Ann-Kathrin Kundermann from FSV Hessen Wetzlar are nominated in the Category Sportswoman of the Year.

In the equally strong men’s competition, in addition to Paralympic champion Brian Bell, Felix Streng, another gold medalist from Tokyo, is nominated. Like Kevin Kranz, he belongs to the Wetzlar sprint team. In addition to these three athletes, handball national player Till Klimpke from our office neighbor HSG Wetzlar and the boxing world champion Emir Ahmatovic are in the race.

In the premier class, the category Team of the Year 2021, in addition to Champions League winner RSV Lahn-Dill, our Arena roommate HSG Wetzlar is also nominated. Third in the league is the cathedral city eighth of the RG Wetzlar, which also rows in the Bundesliga.

RSV-Magazin Defense