Madrid wins the cup for the second time since 1997

RSV keep their heads up despite big defeat
The IWBF Europe has well-deserved new Champions Cup winners, after CD Illunion Madrid beat RSV Lahn-Dill 71:45 (20:14/38:31/56:39). Sadly the Wetzlar team did not manage a repeat of last year’s final; in the end Madrid were just too strong. But RSV are not going home disappointedly; the tournament has been a success over all.
It’s hard to be disappointed when the opposition plays this strongly. Illunion started the game off with a 6:3 (3rd min) lead, which they expanded to 16:9 (6th min), before RSV were able to turn the tides in the second quarter. National Players Annabel Breuer and Joe Bestwick brought a second wind onto court, and after a three by Captain Paye it was Thomas Böhme who got the lead for his team scoring the 21:20 (12th min).
Mirroring last year’s final with reversed roles, it were Madrid this time who kept their cool, especially trio Alejandro Zarzuela, Rodney Hawkins, and Bill Latham. Only three minutes after RSV getting the lead they had already pushed the score to 31:23 (15th min) after a basket by Colombian Hawkins.
After changeover the Spaniards didn’t leave any more room for RSV, their deficit increasing at the same rate as their energy decreased, the tough and strenuous tournament visibly having taken its toll. At the latest from the 60:40 (34th min) score, the result of the game was clear and the winners of the 41st Champions Cup were decided.
3.41 minutes before the end of his last game for RSV Lahn-Dill US-American Steve Serio left the court accompanied by standing ovations. “That’s sports: you win some, you lose some, and today has been a good day. It’s important to stick together as a team and I’m very proud.” says the 28-year-old New Yorker.
Madrid: Terry Bywater (24/1 Dreier), Bill Latham (17), Alejandro Zarzuela (13), Rodney Hawkins (10), Pablo Zarzuela (7), Jaume Llambi, Rafael Muino, Sara Revuelta, Angel Silvela, Virginia Perez, Daniel Stix, Carlos Vera.
Lahn-Dill: Michael Paye (20/1), Steve Serio (11/1), Joe Bestwick (4), Thomas Böhme (4), Nico Dreimüller (4), Dirk Köhler (1), Felix Schell, Björn Lohmann, Annabel Breuer, Jan Haller, Marco Zwerger, Christopher Huber (n.e.). 

RSV-Magazin Defense