Successful Hesse-derby on German Unity Day

87:35-win against new-built Mainhatten Skywheelers

RSV set the tone for the upcoming season on the 25th anniversary of German Unity. They won 87:35 (25:9/47:17/71:24) against newly formed and Mainhatten Skywheelers, who didn’t stand a chance. “I’m actually a bit surprised myself about how tight we played today, despite a pretty short preparation period.” Head Coach Nicolai Zeltinger was happy about the game in front of ca 100 fans who travelled with their team. Especially Boehme and Captain Michael Paye seemed to have returned from their time with their respective national teams relaxed and with confidence. Offensively they were the best players for RSV Lahn-Dill.

The imbalance between both teams was already obvious after an early three-point-play by Serio leading to 11:0 (4th min). Whilst RSV played with a high consistency within their team, Frankfurt changed nearly the entire team. After Boehme scored the 23:4 (9th min) the hosts seemed to find their step, scoring 5 points in a row, but a three by Paye in the second quarter lead to a clear 28:9 lead for RSV.

Not much changed after that; Frankfurt struggled with their guest’s aggressive defence, who in turn also showed a great performance in the offence. The game went via 43:17 (17th min) and 60:23 (27th min) to 76:27 (31st min) after 10 points by Serio. RSV did lose their concentration slightly in the last minutes though, which prevented them from doing further damage to the Frankfurt scoreboard.

RSV Lahn-Dill can generally be happy about their start of the season, despite having left room for improvement. Next Saturday the team will be hosting their first home game against promoted team Hannover United at August-Bebel-Sporthalle.
 Frankfurt: Sven Diedrich (9), Johannes Hengst (8), Paul Nikolaus (8), Tim Diedrich (4), Barbara Groß (2), Anna-Maria Müller (2), Sebastian Spitznagel (2), Anne Brießmann, Sedat Dogan, Markus Gmeinwieser, Juliana Kromberg, Shahpoor Surkhabi. 
 Lahn-Dill: Michael Paye (25/1 Dreier), Thomas Böhme (21), Steve Serio (15/2), Dirk Köhler (10), Joe Bestwick (8), Jan Haller (6), Felix Schell (2), Annabel Breuer, Björn Lohmann, Marco Zwerger. 

RSV-Magazin Defense