Title-defendants in the final

85:68-triumph over Thueringen at Final Four

For the 14th time RSV Lahn-Dill are playing the DRS final. The Middle Hesse team beat RSB Team Thueringen 85:68 (19:17/43:30/66:44) in the semi-final and will now be playing hosting team Hamburg for the title after they beat Trier. 
Over a hundred fans travelled with their club to the north and got the volume up to 131 decibels, having their team’s back through to the end. Captain Michael Paye and his teammates did need some time to tactically get into the game, but in the second quarter RSV started making life difficult for RSB Team Thueringen, moving the score from 19:17 (10th min) to 28:19 (13th min). 

Special ovations go to the US-duo Paye and Serio, who scored from every angle. Thomas Boehme was also in a brilliant mood, so by minute 16 the score had moved 38:21. After changeover the opposition still didn’t stand a chance against RSV’s intense defence, and after Andre Bienek’s fourth foul (23rd min) it was again Serio who caught the rebound and served it to Boehme, who scored the 64:42 (28th min). 
When it just seemed like an easy last quarter, Thueringen got their fire back. The team got closer again with 72:61 (36th min), topped by a three by Briton Dan Highcock (74:64, 37th min). But in the end RSV got into the final with a 85:68 score, playing Hamburg for the potential 12th cup win. 
Thüringen: Aliaksandr Halouski (18), Sebastian Magenheim (16), Dan Highcock (13/1 Dreier), André Bienek (11/1), Teemu Partanen (6/1), Jens-Eike Albrecht (2), Nerijus Venckus (2), Bart Nulens, Raimund Beginskis (n.e.), Marvin Malsy (n.e.). 
Lahn-Dill: Steve Serio (31/1), Michael Paye (30), Thomas Böhme (19), Dirk Köhler (4), Felix Schell (1), Joe Bestwick, Jan Haller, Björn Lohmann, Annabel Breuer (n.e.), Nico Dreimüller (n.e.), Christopher Huber (n.e.), Marco Zwerger (n.e.). 

RSV-Magazin Defense