RSV Lahn-Dill catches up with record-DRS-cup-winner Munich

68:58 against Zwickau brings eighth German-DRS-Cup title to Wetzlar

It was 4:05pm on Sunday at Frankfurt when RSV-Captain Joey Johnson lifted the DRS-Cup in his hands after a great fight against the RSC Rollis Zwickau. At the same arena where Lahn-Dill lost against Zwickau in 2008 this time the better arguments were on the side of Nicolai Zeltinger´s team that beat the rival by 68:58 (22:22, 36:32, 50:48).

The whole first half was a very close game and the lead changed almost after every possession. Right after halftime-break RSV Lahn-Dill was able to benefit from a first weak period for Zwickau that brought a 8:0 run for Wetzlar and a 44:34 (23.) lead. During the next six minutes Zwickau came back and at the end of the third quarter the game was tied again (48:48;29.). Now Zwickau got more and more into foul-trouble and when their team captain Piotr Luszynski had to leave the court due to his fifth personal foul (35.) and Lahn-Dill scored to a 63:56 Zwickau´s spell was finally broken.

„It was a very close game that made it hard to coach from the bench." an overwhelmed and happy coach Nicolai Zeltinger resumed shortly after the game.

RSV Lahn-Dill did not only win its eighth DRS-Cup title in club history and caught up with record-cup-champion Munich but the team of top-scoring player Michael Paye also won a threepeat in this competition after 2009 and 2010.

Zwickau: Piotr Luszynski (16), Raimunds Beginskis (13), Marcin Balcerowski (12), Bryce Doody (8), Rostislav Pohlmann (7), Krzysztof Bandura (2), Frank Oehme, Diana Dadzite (n.e.), Günther Mayer (n.e.), Kai Möller (n.e.).

Lahn-Dill: Michael Paye (26), Steve Serio (17), Dirk Köhler (14), Joey Johnson (8), Thomas Böhme (3), Mina Mojtahedi, Felix Schell, Kai Gerlach (n.e.), Thomas Gundert (n.e.), Gesche Schünemann (n.e.).

A video of the cup finals including some interviews in English you will find under

RSV-Magazin Defense